14
Apr
10

When did I meet this Flick fella?

DD holds a portrait by comic artist Chris Flick of www.capesandbabes.com

Waitaminute! I don’t wear a cape…and I’m sure not a babe…

See more of Chris Flick’s work at www.capesandbabes.com.  I have to show you the bonus he sent in the form of the sketch on the envelope:

Cartoon on manila envelope from Chris Flick

I was a little confused about the reference to Arizona and superheroes.  Then it occurred to me that maybe, like so many others, Chris mistook AR in my mailing address to be Arizona (AZ) instead of  Arkansas.  It’s okay, Chris.  We get AK (Alaska) for Arkansas all the time, too.

I’m fortunate to have gotten the art card from Chris when I saw it on Twitter.  Oh, and he draws a lot of other stuff besides DD.  Very well, too!

3 Responses to “When did I meet this Flick fella?”


  1. April 15, 2010 at 8:02 am

    Hey! I just came across this today. Oh man… I’m so embarrassed now… I don’t know why I was thinking AR was ARizona instead of AZ… Geesh! Talk about mud on my face now.

    But… in my defense (if I may), all of these envelope things, I pretty much do on the spot when I’m standing in line at the post office. They are pretty improvised and – as you can see – there’s really not much planning or sketching that goes in to them. Just something quick and fast I try to do to throw a little surprise to people who order or buy something from me. 🙂

    I have to tell you… honestly, it was kind of hard parting with this little sketch card. Once I finished him, he turned out way better than I had originally envisioned and many an artists will tell you that’s a rare experience.

    But I’m glad you liked the car – and that’s an AWESOME picture of DD holding the card too! I would LOVE to put this up on my blog, if you don’t mind…

    -Chris

    • April 18, 2010 at 12:37 am

      I was just funnin’ with you about the Arizona thing. We get it all the time on stuff. It didn’t even click with me at first why you put the guy on the block of ice, because it’s been fairly warm here already.

      I know what you mean about parting with a piece of art that you feel really good about. I’ve sold many a piece that I wish I still had. I promise I’ll take good care of your DD for you. 🙂 Be my guest about putting this up on your blog. It’s fine with me!

  2. 3 chil365
    April 19, 2010 at 12:57 am

    Great sketch. 😀 The one on the envelope is cute. (Quickly sketching while standing in line? Talented and multi-tasking :D)


Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers


